Stormy Monday

: Lou Rawls, Les McCann Ltd.
: LP
: Bear Family Productions Ltd.

BAF 18043

New product

180gram deluxe edition

More details

Warning: Last items in stock!

22,00 €

Add to wishlist

More info

1-LP 180gram (lined inside pocket), 13 tracks. Total playing time approx. 46 minutes.

 Reissue of a great Jazz/Blues LP from 1962. Reproduction of the original front cover.
 Cool grooving and swinging combination of Gospel/Blues vocals and Westcoast Combo Jazz.
 Newly interpreted classics include (They Call It) Stormy Monday, See See Rider, I'm Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town and In The Evening When The Sun Goes Down.
 We've added three previously unreleased recordings - Blues Is A Woman, A Little Les Of Lou's Blues, and an alternative version of Stormy Monday - to the original LP!
 Carefully remastered by Tom Meyer at Master & Servant and pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Optimal media.

When Lou Rawls (1933 - 2006) entered the recording studio in Los Angeles in February 1962 to record his first album, 'Stormy Monday' in collaboration with Les McCann's combo, hardly anyone could have guessed what success and popularity the black singer, songwriter, producer and film actor would achieve in the coming decades. In 1966 he made his breakthrough with Love Is A Hurtin' Thing and reached the top of the R&B charts. 

Four years earlier the situation was different. Rawls had grown up in the south side of Chicago, got in touch with gospel music early, met Curtis Mayfield and replaced Sam Cooke in the Highway QC's a few years later. At eighteen, he moved to the West Coast, released his first recordings, and created a masterpiece along with jazz pianist LesMcCann, a prototype of the cool jazz/blues melange so characteristic for the L.A. music scene.

The silky deep baritone voice carries the reinterpretations of such famous blues classics as (They Call It) Stormy Monday, See See See Rider, I'm Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town or In The Evening When The Sun Goes Down. Lou Rawls just possesses that voice!
But besides the song selection and Lou Rawls' goose-bump producing voice, the small combo of Les McCann - also known as Ltd. - must be credited for the incredibly coherent production. Part of the recordings were made during a night session, which must be regarded as one of the gentlest and most relaxed recording sessions in history. With 'Stormy Monday' Rawls and McCann turn away from the then popular 'Neo-Gospel' or 'Soul-Jazz'. Their wonderful arrangements are reminiscent of the great rhythm and blues of the early 50s. The result: pure electricity! In other words: one of the most beautiful cool Jazz/Blues albums of its time.


A1  (They Call It) Stormy Monday 3:46
A2  God Bless The Child 4:30
A3  See See Rider 3:12
A4  Willow Weep For Me 5:57
A5  I'm Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town 4:00
A6  In the Evening When The Sun Goes Down 3:29

B1  'Tain't Nobody's Biz-Ness If I Do 2:46
B2  Lost And Lookin' 3:12
B3  I'd Rather Drink Muddy Water 3:55
B4  Sweet Lover 3:08
B5  Blues Is A Woman (Bonus Track) 2:58
B6  A Little Les Of Lou's Blues (Bonus Track) 2:24
B7  (They Call It) Stormy Monday <Alternate Take> (Bonus Track) 2:57