Life View larger


: Sly & The Family Stone
: LP
: Music On Vinyl ‎/ Epic


New product

180 gram audiophile vinyl

More details

Warning: Last items in stock!

20,00 €

Add to wishlist

More info

Life is the third studio album of Sly and the Family Stone, released in 1968. Unlike its predecessor Dance To The Music [MOVLP1402], Life was not a commercial success, although it has received mostly positive reviews from music critics over the years.

Many of its songs, including "M'Lady", "Fun", "Love City", as well as the title track, became popular staples in the Family Stone's live show. A middle ground between the fiery A Whole New Thing and the more commercial Dance To The Music, Life features very little use of studio effects, and is instead more driven by frontman Sly Stone's compositions.

Much of Life has been heavily sampled for Hip Hop and Electronica recordings, particularly Gregg Errico's drum solo on "Love City". The opening riff on "Into My Own Thing" was sampled for Fatboy Slim's 2001 hit "Weapon of Choice".


A1 Dynamite! 2:43
A2 Chicken 2:13
A3 Plastic Jim 3:28
A4 Fun 2:20
A5 Into My Own Thing 2:12
A6 Harmony 2:50

B1 Life 2:58
B2 Love City 2:42
B3 I'm An Animal 3:21
B4 M'Lady 2:44
B5 Jane Is A Groupee 2:47


• Bass, Vocals – Larry Graham
• Electric Piano, Vocals – Sister Rosie Stone
• Guitar, Vocals – Brother Freddy Stone
• Percussion – Greg Errico
• Saxophone – Gerry Martini
• Trumpet – Cynthia Robinson