Sugar Pie View larger

Sugar Pie

: Sugar Pie DeSanto
: LP
: Shellac Disc


New product

Warning: Last items in stock!

15,00 €

Add to wishlist

More info

Sugar Pie Desanto’s first LP from 1961 is one of the most sought after pieces among lovers of timeless rhythm and blues and American soul music.

Standing at just 1.50 m tall, Peylia Marsema Balinton –better known by her stage name Sugar Pie Desanto– is one of the biggest forces of the rhythm and blues scene. Her wild performances include dancing and standing back flipwards and are remembered as some of the greatest stage acts in the history of Rock & Roll.

Sugar Pie Desanto was discovered by Johnny Otis, who gave her a contract to tour with the Johnny Otis Review and, more importantly, her stage name. In 1959 and 1960 she also toured with the James Brown Revue, prior to raise into national prominence when her single “I Want To Know” reached number 4 on Billboard’s Hot R&B Charts.

Desanto moved to Chicago where Chess Records offered her a contract through which several 45s and the amazing long playing that you hold in your hands were released.

A prolific composer, she has recorded some of her songs with her childhood friend Etta James


A1 Can't Let You Go 
A2 It's Done And Forgotten 
A3 It Won't Be Long 
A4 Maybe You'll Be There 
A5 Going Back To Where I Belong 
A6 Wish You Were Mine 

B1 I Want To Know 
B2 I Don't Feel Sorry 
B3 Tell Me What's The Matter 
B4 The Twelfth Of Never 
B5 It's Not For Me To Say 
B6 I Still Care