Mel Tormé's California Suite View larger

Mel Tormé's California Suite

: Mel Tormé
: LP
: Vinyl Passion ‎/ Bethlehem Records

VP 90020

New product

This product is no longer in stock

17,00 €

Add to wishlist

More info

Mel Tormé first wrote this suite dedicated to the Golden State as a twenty-minute piece in 1949 arranged by Neal Hefti and Billy May, with Peggy Lee providing vocals. Eight years later he recorded this LP-length version arranged and conducted by Marty Paich, with much more jazz influence than was evident in the original recording. Although there are many sections in California Suite that stand as individual musical entities suitable for playing and enjoying in themselves - the interludes 'Poor Little Extra Girl', 'Got The Date On The Golden Gate' and 'They Go To San Diego' for example, the composition is a complete work that deserves to be listened to in that way.


A1 The Territory (The Soil Was Good) 
A2 West Coast Is The Best Coast 
A3 La Jolla 
A4 Coney Island 
A5 Atlantic City Boardwalk 
A6 They Go To San Diego 

B1 San Fernando Valley 
B2 Got The Date On The Golden Gate 
B3 L.A. 
B4 Six O'Clock (It's Time To Leave The Set) 
B5 Nothing To Do (But Shed A Tear) 
B6 Poor Little Extra Girl 
B7 West Coast Is The Best Coast (Reprise)

Recorded March 1957, in Hollywood, California.