Satchmo At Symphony Hall View larger

Satchmo At Symphony Hall

: Louis Armstrong And His All-Stars
: 2xLP
: Vinyl Passion

VP 80779

New product

Warning: Last items in stock!

22,00 €

Add to wishlist

More info

Louis Armstrong's concert at Symphony Hall with his newly-formed All-Stars in 1947 was a major success, featuring the trumpeter with vocalist/trombonist Jack Teagarden, clarinetist Barney Bigard, pianist Dick Cary, bassist Arvell Shaw, and drummer 'Big' Sid Catlett in particularly inspired form. The program concentrates on such classics as 'Mahogany Hall Stomp', 'Black And Blue', 'Muskrat Ramble' and 'C-Jam Blues'. Highlights include Armstrong's outstanding vocal on 'Black and Blue', heated jams on 'Royal Garden Blues', 'Muskrat Ramble' and 'High Society' and Teagarden's playing on 'Lover Man'. Catlett drives the band; Middleton and Armstrong have a great, funny duet on 'That's My Desire' and Bigard complements his front-line cohorts. There may be more historically important Armstrong recordings, but there are few that are more exciting.


A1.  Muscat Ramble 
A2.  Black And Blue 
A3.  Royal Garden Blues 
A4.  Lover 
A5.  Stars Fell On Alabama 

B1.  I Cried For You 
B2.  Since I Fell For You 
B3.  Tea For Two 
B4.  Body And Soul 
B5.  Steak Face 

C1.  Mahogany Hall Stomp 
C2.  On The Sunny Side Of The Street 
C3.  High Society 
C4.  Baby, Won't You Please Come Home 
C5.  That's My Desire 

D1.  "C" Jam Blues 
D2.  How High The Moon 
D3.  Boff Boff 

Bonus Tracks
D4.  Basin Street Blues 
D5.  Dear Old Southland 
D6.  Someday You'll Be Sorry