Picture On The Wall: Deluxe Edition

: Freddie McKay
: 2xLP
: Studio One


Artículo nuevo

Incluye tarjeta de descarga
Carpeta desplegable

Más detalles

34,00 €


Out of print for over a decade, Studio One announces the release of a deluxe edition of 'Picture on the Wall', the highly influential debut from reggae musician Freddie McKay. 

Originally released in 1971, and showcasing McKay’s unparalleled talent, the deluxe edition features 24 tracks, with many never-before-released on CD or LP. Offering alternate versions, rarities, and extended mixes, this is the definitive collection of Freddie McKay at Studio One. With an extended mix of “Love Is a Treasure” and a version of “Picture on the Wall,” featuring the stylings of Prince Junior, these rarities from the Studio One vaults shine new light on McKay’s brilliance.

As one of the earliest examples of McKay finding his voice and offering a taste of the vibrant single mixes, the never-before-released on CD or LP, rare Jamaican single mix of “Sweet You, Sour You”.

McKay’s untimely death in 1986 cut short a highly promising career. Working with the legendary Coxsone Dodd and backed by the Soul Defenders, McKay made his authentic, rocksteady sound visible throughout Picture on the Wall. Many of the songs that initially caught Dodd’s attention, such as “High School Dance” and the title track, are found here.

Since 2016, Studio One reissues albums from legendary artists such as The Wailers and The Skatalites, as well as an entirely new compilation from Don Drummond. Other releases include a reissue of the rare Money Maker compilation and two broadcasts of the Studio One Radio Show.

A1.  Picture On The Wall.  3:33
A2.  You Are Not The Kind.  3:34
A3.  Love Is A Treasure.  2:55
A4.  Father Will Cut You Off.  2:54
A5.  So Long Forever.  2:40
A6.  You'll Be Sorry.  3:27

B1.  High School Dance.  2:14
B2.  Slip Away.  3:28
B3.  Old Joe.  2:37
B4.  A Little Bit Will Do.  2:23
B5.  Can't Go On.  2:21
B6.  Watch Your Step.  2:26

C1.  Drunken Sailor.  2:28
C2.  Drunken Sailor (Version).  2:30
C3.  You'll Be Sorry (Jamaica Single Mix).  3:27
C4.  You'll Be Sorry (Version).  2:54
C5.  Picture On The Wall (Jamaica Single Mix).  3:33
C6.  Picture On The Wall (Version).  2:50
C7.  Picture On The Wall Vers. 3..  3:01

D1.  I Am A Freeman (aka I Am Free, Free-Man).  2:33
D2.  Sweet You, Sour You (Jamaican Single Mix).  3:23
D3.  Old And Grey (aka When I Am Grey).  2:51
D4.  My True Love.  3:07
D5.  Love Is A Treasure (12" Extended Mix).  7:43

• Backing Band – Soul Defenders
• Backing Vocals – Alton Ellis, Joseph Hill, Larry Marshall, Nana McLean, The Selected Few
• Bass [The Soul Defenders] – Festus Walker
• Drums [The Soul Defenders] – Vincent Morgan
• Guitar – Eric Frater, Ernest Ranglin
• Guitar [The Soul Defenders] – Val Whittaker
• Horns – Bobby Ellis, Cedric Brooks, David Madden, Roland Alphonso, Tommy McCook, Trommie
• Keyboards – Aubrey Adams, Jackie Mittoo, Richard Ace
• Lead Guitar [The Soul Defenders] – Jah Privy
• Organ [The Soul Defenders] – Bobby Kalphat
• Percussion – Denzel Laing
• Percussion [The Soul Defenders] – Joseph "Culture" Hill
• Producer – C. S Dodd