Soul Run

Soul Run

Record Kicks
Tanika Charles
24,00 €


Política de seguridad


Política de entrega


Política de devolución

Soul Run
Record Kicks proudly presents Juno Awards nominee Tanika Charles. Her debut album "Soul Run", produced among others by Slakah The Beatchild - best known for his works with Drake.

Already filed under "one of the heavy hitter of 2017" and anticipated by its first single, the title tracks "Soul Run" which is hitting the airwaves all around the globe, Soul Run is the debut album by Edmonton-raised Tanika Charles. 

The album strikes a seamless balance between the warm authentic vintage Motown soul sound, yet contains a contemporary twist to it. A tricky thing to accomplish, however, Tanika has undeniably managed to achieve this, judging by the glowing reviews and support she's currently receiving from all around the globe, including a nomination at the 2017 Juno Awards (the Canadian Grammys) for best R&b/Soul album of year. 

"The most buzzed-about Soul singer in Toronto" according to CBC network, in a few short years has transformed from an emerging solo artist to a commanding performer and bandleader, a staple in the Canadian soul scene, both on stage and off. Her touring career has seen her supporting the likes of Estelle, Haitus Kayote, Lauryn Hill and Macy Gray. Highly impressive, considering she is only just releasing her debut album to the world, after her low-key EP release, 'What! What? What!?', back in 2010. 

Growing up on a musical diet of Patti Labelle, Jill Scott, Bob James, Stevie Wonder, D'Angelo, Bjork and The Black Crows, Charles' eclectic music taste subconsciously shines through in 'Soul Run', an album's name that came from a tragic part of Tanika's life. Miss Charles presents an immutable charm, at times endearingly abrasive and honest in her vulnerabilities. If Tanika's singing it, she's lived it! Soul Run "is a post breakup album. It's not about a breakup as such, but about finding yourself after hitting the reset button", Charles makes clear. Tanika Charles put a modern, edgy twist on the classic Motown sound, resulting in an album that captures the ears and feet of anyone in a 5 mile radius. Fans of Sharon Jones, Lee Fields, Lauryn Hill and Macy Gray... watch out !!! 


A1.   Intro.   1:11
A2.   Soul Run.   3:28
A3.   Two Steps.   3:46
A4.   Sweet Memories.   3:46
A5.   More Than A Man.   3:34
A6.   Money.   2:53

B1.   Love Fool.   3:17
B2.   Heavy.   3:29
B3.   Endless Chain.   3:48
B4.   Waiting.   3:28
B5.   Darkness And The Dawn.   4:02