Shina Williams

: Shina Williams & His African Percussions
: LP
: Mr Bongo


New product

Warning: Last items in stock!

22,00 €

Add to wishlist

More info

First official reissue of hidden-gem album by Lagos-based bandleader Shina Williams. 

Shina Williams 'Agboju Logun' was a ground-breaking fusion of afrobeat, electronics, boogie and disco. First released on Phonodisk in 1979 as part of the 'African Dances' album, then in 1984 as an alternative version on Rough Trade's Earthwork off-shoot, it has gone on to attain cult-like status. So it remains a bit of a mystery how so little has been documented about the follow-up. Shina's self-titled album was originally released on Help Records in 1980. It differs from the upfront afro-disco-funk of 'African Dances' as it diverts into deeper, hypnotic, afro-beat territory. Though listed as a six-track album, each side (composing of 3 tracks) is built-upon one continuous groove with call and response female & male vocals and instrumental solos coming and going as each side progresses. The results are raw, hypnotic, locked-in grooves, which sit perfectly on forward-thinking contemporary dancefloors. 

Official Mr Bongo reissue. Replica original artwork. LP only. Licensed from the family of Shina Wiliams.


A1   Ise Aje Male 
A2   Egbe Kegbe 
A3   Emi Koni Koja Ayemi 

B1   Osupa Lomode Nsere Ale 
B2   Ere la O Je Labo Oko 
B3   Alapa Ma Sise


• Alto Saxophone – Chike Akwue 
• Baritone Saxophone – Gbagi 
• Bass Guitar – Ojo Ekeji 
• Congas [1st Rhythm] – Ademola Esho
• Congas [2nd Rhythm] – Tommy Joe
• Congas [Lead], Producer – Friday Jumbo
• Drums – Prince Bola
• Guitar [Tenor], Rhythm Guitar, Lead Guitar – Kayode Dosunmu 
• Keyboards – Gold Finger 
• Talking Drum – Rasaki Oladokun
• Tenor Saxophone – Olu Jaiyeola
• Trombone – Eyanze Junior, Udor 
• Trumpet – Eyanze Senior
• Vocals [Female] – Ayo Ogunlade, Bhola Eberiga, Jaiye Martins